Trent Alexander-Arnold Keeps His Place in England’s Starting XI for Euro 2024 Clash Against Denmark

The England national team is set to take on Denmark in a crucial Euro 2024 group stage match, and manager Gareth Southgate has named his starting lineup for the highly anticipated clash.

In the opening fixture of the tournament, England secured a narrow 1-0 victory over Serbia, courtesy of a goal from midfielder Jude Bellingham. The Three Lions’ performance, while not entirely convincing, showcased their ability to grind out results on the biggest stage.

As England prepares to face off against the formidable Danish side led by Kasper Hjulmand, Southgate has opted to retain the majority of the starting XI that delivered the opening-game win. The lineup sees Trent Alexander-Arnold keep his place in midfield, with Declan Rice and Bellingham providing the necessary defensive cover.

“Trent Alexander-Arnold’s inclusion in the starting lineup demonstrates Southgate’s faith in the Liverpool full-back’s ability to contribute both defensively and offensively.”

Elsewhere, the familiar faces of Kyle Walker, John Stones, and Marc Guehi form the heart of the England defense, while Kieran Trippier is deployed as the left-back, despite not being a natural in that position.

Up front, the dynamic trio of Bukayo Saka, Phil Foden, and captain Harry Kane will be tasked with breaking down the well-organized Danish backline. Foden, who was somewhat less effective playing out wide against Serbia, retains his place in the starting lineup, with Southgate potentially considering substitutions from the likes of Anthony Gordon, Cole Palmer, and Eberechi Eze to provide additional attacking impetus.

As the Three Lions look to build on their positive start to the Euro 2024 campaign, the encounter with Denmark promises to be a stern test of their credentials as they seek to progress to the knockout stages of the tournament.

The full England starting lineup for the Euro 2024 clash against Denmark is as follows:

  1. GK: Jordan Pickford
  2. RB: Kyle Walker
  3. CB: John Stones
  4. CB: Marc Guehi
  5. LB: Kieran Trippier
  6. CM: Trent Alexander-Arnold
  7. CM: Declan Rice
  8. CM: Jude Bellingham
  9. RW: Bukayo Saka
  10. AM: Phil Foden
  11. CF: Harry Kane

๐Ÿ”— Source