Football News: Middlesbrough’s Historic League Cup Triumph Remains Their Only Major Trophy in 148 Years

On 29 February, 2004, a group of Middlesbrough players etched their names into the club’s rich football history by becoming the first team to bring major silverware to Teesside. In a memorable EFL Cup final, Steve McClaren’s side defeated fellow Premier League outfit Bolton Wanderers 2-1 at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Joseph-Desire Job and Boudewijn Zenden scored the goals that secured Middlesbrough’s triumph, sparking wild celebrations among the fans who had followed the team’s cup run. Twenty years on, this remains the only major trophy in the club’s 148-year history.

BBC Radio Tees Sport has taken a look back at Middlesbrough’s EFL Cup-winning campaign in a new audio series, “Boro’s League Cup Heroes: 20 Years On,” chronicling the team’s road to glory, round by round.

The Journey to Glory

The journey began with a narrow victory over third-tier side Brighton & Hove Albion, where substitute Malcolm Christie came off the bench to score the decisive goal in extra time. Despite suffering a broken leg later in the season, Christie’s contribution to the cup run will never be forgotten.

Middlesbrough then dispatched Wigan Athletic and Everton, the latter in a dramatic penalty shootout, to reach the semi-finals. There, they faced the formidable challenge of Arsene Wenger’s ‘Invincibles’ Arsenal side, but two stunning results saw them clinch a final berth against Bolton.

In the final, Middlesbrough raced into a 2-0 lead, with Job and Zenden finding the net early on. Bolton’s Kevin Davies pulled one back, but Boro held on to secure the trophy, much to the delight of the club’s long-suffering supporters.

“It was a special moment for a club that had never had success like that before in 128 years of history to that point,” said midfielder Boudewijn Zenden, reflecting on the team’s triumph.

This EFL Cup victory remains a cherished moment in Middlesbrough’s football history, a testament to the resilience and determination of the players who etched their names into the club’s annals.

๐Ÿ”— Source